What is HTML5?

HTML5 is the new standard for HTML 4.01, XHTML 1.0 and DOM Level 2 HTML.


The main goal is to reduce the need for proprietary RIA technologies, such as Adobe Flash, Microsoft Silverlight and Sun JavaFX (with new elements like <video>, <canvas> and <audio>, to adapt HTML to the semantic web concept (with new elements like <nav>, <header> and <footer>) and to decrease bugs by allowing the browser to auto-correct mistakes more easily.


Find out how much of HTML5 and CSS3 your browser supports on Here’s a chart of support for all major browsers:

Check out A List Apart’s article on the History of HTML Markup


Tutorials & Info

Some Cool New Elements


<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<meta charset="utf-8" />
<title>HTML5 Template</title>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="css/main.css" type="text/css" />
<!--[if IE]>
	<script src=""></script><![endif]-->
<!--[if lte IE 7]>
	<script src="js/IE8.js" type="text/javascript"></script><![endif]-->
<!--[if lt IE 7]>
	<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" href="css/ie6.css"/><![endif]-->
<body id="index" class="home">

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Web Development Courses, Rants, Tutorials and Hacks